Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

My Wedding Shows Obsession August 16, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 8:44 pm
Tags: , ,

For some reason, I’m obsessed with wedding TV shows even though I got married over a year ago. I don’t like to watch a lot of TV; I find that I could be doing more useful or relaxing things instead, like playing the piano, reading, having a good conversation with my husband, or talking with a friend on the phone. Even still, I can’t help myself. Maybe because weddings are just so fun and watching them brings me back to when I was engaged and getting married? Either way, I don’t see an end to my DVRing of my favorites (Say Yes to the Dress, My Fair Wedding, and Platinum Weddings) any time soon!

I spent the afternoon tinkering around with the blog (shaking a fist at autoformatting!), cleaning, and bumming around the house. It makes me sad to think that my summer is almost over. I’ve enjoyed all the “me time”, especially since during the school year, I’m running around like crazy and the last thing on my mind is what I want to do. Spending more time figuring out how to fit in more time for these things is going to be higher on my priority list come September.

Anyway, a few hours after lunch, I was craving a sweet and decided on one of my favorites: a Weight Watchers Giant Fudge bar. I absolutely love these. They are absolutely ginormous and taste decadently creamy and chocolatey.

The nutrtional stats aren’t that bad: 110 calories per bar. I know that it’s not the healthiest of choices in terms of the nutrients and ingredients, but I figure that if I only have a couple foods like this a day, it all balances itself out in the end.

For dinner, Dave (the husband) and I decided on a favorite recipe we haven’t made in a long time: Seared Salmon with Avocado, Shrimp, and Mango Salsa from Cooking Light. We love it because it’s very yummy and healthy, without tasting “diety.” Cooking Light is one of my favorite places to go for good and healthy recipes.

In all honesty, Dave is really the chef in our house and I’m the sous chef. I do the chopping and he does the cooking. All right, sometimes he does ALL of it. I like cooking a lot, but don’t always have the energy to cook, especially after a long day of work during which I’ve been on my feet. In the summer time, I do more cooking since I have more free time, but even still, Dave makes dinner 🙂

Tonight was no exception. I made the mango salsa and salad while Dave was doing GMAT review (he’s taking the exam at the end of next month). The mango salsa included the following ingredients:

I ate the rest of the mango that I didn’t used in the recipe, about 1/3. I heart mango!

Next, I made the salad:

Dave was in charge of handling (eww) and cooking the salmon. He just sprinkled it with some salt and pepper. I picked up some really nice looking sockeye salmon fillets last week. They were super cheap at $8.99 per pound! Sockeye salmon is even higher in Omega 3s than Atlantic farm-raised salmon. Apparently, it’s sockeye salmon season and the season is very short. Buy it while it’s fresh!

We followed the recipe to a “t”, with the following two exceptions:

–       we nixed the shrimp (with the salmon, mango, avocado, etc., we decided it doesn’t really need it. We have made it with shrimp and it’s delicious, though!)

–       we didn’t use fresh cilantro. Normally, we would use it, since fresh herbs taste infinitely better than dried, but considering our cilantro plant died earlier this summer, we just used what we had.

Mmmmm…

Dave and I shared dessert. I pan-seared peach slices sprinkled with some cinnamon and finished them off with some honey greek yogurt on top.

What will I do when summer is over and summer fruit is gone?! I will definitely miss it…

We’re spending the rest of the night catching up on some TV shows, since we were out of town for the weekend, and our nightly crossword puzzle. G’night 🙂

 

One Response to “My Wedding Shows Obsession”

  1. Margee Says:

    Glad you’ve decided to blog. It’s been awhile since I’ve seen you ;0)
    I made a similar salsa last night with watermelon instead of mango, very yummy.

    I equally like the latte bar. Big, refreshing and excellent after a meal.

    Looking forward to reading more posts


Leave a Reply

