Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Double Date August 17, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 5:03 pm
Tags: , , , ,

It has been a long day so far and it’s only 4:30! I got to the gym early to skip rush hour traffic and bumped into Gia on the treadmills. I jogged with her for about 20 minutes before she left and I headed to the spinning class. As always, the spinning instructor kicked my butt and I loved it! It’s a very challenging workout but is one that can be tailored to your exercise ability. On days when my legs feel like lead, I lighten the load a bit so that I have an easier ride. Today I felt ready for the torture, so I tackled it head on.

I still managed to have some energy to smile after getting drenched during spinning!

I had about 45 minutes to kill between spinning and body pump, so I bummed around a bit and did a little extra strength training for my triceps and inner thighs. Soon I was in body pump and working hard. For those of you who don’t know, body pump is a cardiovascular strength training class that works one body part at a time. The moves include squats, chest presses, deadlifts and rows (for the back), triceps moves, biceps curls, lunges, and pushups and raises (for shoulders). The moves are choreographed to really fun and catchy music, so it motivates you to keep going, even when you think you have no juice left in your tank. I love how strong I’ve gotten from doing it two or three times a week!

After a record-breaking short shower, I headed to Whole Foods to meet Gia for lunch. Yay for a seeing her twice in one day! I love going to Whole Foods for lunch dates because everything there is delicious and fresh, not to mention the abundance of healthy options. I decided to make a delicious salad from the salad bar. It included:

  • barley
  • lentils
  • goat cheese, pecans, and craisins tossed with mesculin greens
  • grilled chicken
  • tomatoes
  • cucumber
  • grilled eggplant
  • balsamic vinagrette

Yumm-o.

I also got some pineapple, grapes, and blueberries for dessert, but I didn’t end up digging into these until the movie.

Eat Pray Love was so much fun! I loved the book and have been waiting for the movie. It’s about a woman, Liz, (played by Julia Roberts) who feels out of touch with herself and goes on a journey to Italy, India, and Bali to find herself. It’s a fun chick flick and I recommend it for all you chicks 🙂 One line that really stuck with me was this: “God lives within me, as me.” I think that this is such an important idea in accepting who we are and I’m going to put it on my refrigerator so that I can be reminded every day.

Source: http://www.elizabethgilbert.com

I came home with a growling stomach and was indecisive about what I wanted for snack. I didn’t want anything too big since we’d be eating dinner in 2 1/2 hours. I settled on a wrap with Cabot’s cheese (50 calories per bar – Costco find!) topped with salsa.

These wraps are awesome. I love the taste, texture, and nutritional stats:

Mmm cheese…

All wrapped up.

I finished off my snack with a little bowl of strawberries.

See you in a few for dinner!

 

2 Responses to “Double Date”

  1. Margee Says:

    I also enjoyed the book and plan on seeing the film. But Jess! Call spoiler alert!


Leave a Reply

