Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

WE HAVE A BABY PEPPER! August 17, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 7:51 am
Tags: , , ,

Good morning. I had a hard time falling asleep last night, probably because of excitement over the blog and a little caffeine I had at 7:00 last night. Blame the new regular coffee I received from Barnie’s Coffee at the end of last week! (Barnie’s is the BEST place to get flavored decaf coffee…otherwise I’m stuck with boring French Vanilla and Hazelnut.) I usually only order decaf, but decided to order a few fun flavors in regular that they don’t have for decaf coffee to have on hand for those days when the kids are extra naughty. I’m usually a decaf drinker (because of my migraines and the energy sap I feel when I get reliant on it) and prefer to get my energy from good ole fashioned 8 hours of sleep. Usually I’m a really good sleeper (just ask Dave!) and can fall asleep within one minute of shutting my eyes and sleep through the night. Oh well, I know that once I get moving, I’ll shake this feeling of tiredness behind my eyes.

I have a long and busy morning ahead of me, so I decided to make one of my favorites, oatmeal pancakes. In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup quick-cook oats (important for making oatmeal pancakes!)
  • lots of cinnamon
  • a heaping tsp of baking powder (gives it the fluffiness)
  • chia seeds (for omega 3s)
  • half of a defrosted overripe banana (I have a bag full of them in my freezer)
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • vanilla

For toppings, I decided on little Maranatha peanut butter for some and syrup sprinkled with walnuts for the others.

Plus some iced coffee (cupcake + decaf creme brulee)

Here’s a shameless plug for Maranatha nut butters. I used to avoid nuts and nut butters like the plague because I was afraid of anything that had more than a few grams of fat. Recently, I’ve become a big believer in the satiety factor that fat gives the food you eat and in fact, I’ve found that I need a lot less food now that I eat more fat, probably up to 1/3 less food! Maranatha nut butters are awesome because they either have no or very little added sugar and salt, which makes them much harder to overeat. It took me a while to get used to the new taste, but now I’m absolutely in love 🙂

Now that Dave and I live in the ‘burbs, we have a really nice patio and backyard and for two years have been trying our luck with a vegetable and herb garden. I would say I have a green thumb! This year we have

Zucchini

Zucchini flowers (This is where baby zucchinis come from)

Cucumbers

Tomatoes (yellow and red)

Bell Peppers (this is the FIRST one of the summer! We thought it wasn’t ever going to happen!)

Basil, which you saw yesterday

It’s so much fun to literally see the fruits of our hard work. I love being able to make food with things that come right out of our yard. Next year, we’re thinking of expanding!

My busy morning will be a fun one! I’m first going to Healthworks for a spinning class followed by Body Pump. Afterwards, Gia and I are going to Whole Foods for lunch and then to see Eat, Pray Love! I loved the book and can’t wait for the movie. I’ll be back later this afternoon with a recap of lunch.

 

Leave a Reply

