Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Getting Faster August 18, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 9:32 am
Tags: ,

I was up early today so that I could bring in my car, Danica (after Danica Patrick), for her 30,000 mile check-up, and to get in a run before it got too hot outside.

I don’t like to run on an empty stomach because like a car, you need fuel (food) in your body so that you have the energy to run. I also don’t like eating a large meal because then I feel like I have a brick in my stomach or feel nauseated. I chose a small but energy-loaded breakfast: one slice of whole wheat bread (Peperidge Farm Carb Style bread with 60 calories per slice), a smearing of almond butter (about 1/2 tbsp) and two thin slices of a pink lady apple, washed down with a glass of water for some hydration before my run.

Ready to set out on my run!

I had a great run! The temperature was perfect and it wasn’t too sunny, which means that I didn’t get overheated. A couple months ago I purchased a Camelbak, which is a backpack that has a 1.5 liter water bottle inside it. On longer runs, I love having it because keeping myself hydrated means that I am able to run longer and harder. The breeze was also nice to cool myself down.

I’ve been trying to incorporate more hills into my running because the half-marathon that I’m running in November will have a whole bunch of them. Hills are daunting, but like anything else, the more you do them, the easier it gets. I managed to beat my previous time on this loop by :40 seconds per mile, finishing the 6.1 mile loop in less than an hour.

For those of you who have never seen one, this is the Garmin Foreruner, a GPS watch that tracks your pace, time, and distance. It’s helpful when you’re training for long races and for seeing progress over time. It is not a cheap gadget, but one worth investing in if you are planning on getting into running.

I had planned to eat overnight oats after my run, but I have no appetite whatsoever right now. This happens after long-ish runs. Maybe I’ll eat them for lunch? I’ll be spending the morning stretching my tired muscles, doing an abs video, and taking care of some odds and ends. I have a lot to square away before I go back to school in less than two weeks! Ack!

 

Leave a Reply

