Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Weird Appetite August 18, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 2:26 pm
Tags: ,

Soon after I wrote my breakfast post, I was struck with some serious hunger pangs. I dug into my second breakfast: overnight oats in a jar.For those of you who have never heard of overnight oats before, they are dry rolled oats that soak overnight in some milk and/or yogurt which lets them soften. I like to eat my cold and they are a really tasty breakfast for a summer day.

Last night, I combined:

  • 1/3 cup dry rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1/2 cup plain fat free greek yogurt
  • 1 tsp of Chia seeds (for Omega 3s) <– these don’t have much of a taste, but when left in liquid, they form a gel. I like to add them to my overnight oats for texture.
  • 1/2 large overripe banana, mushed up
  • 1 heaping tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 splenda packet

I mixed all this up inside a near-empty peanut jar, which had about 1/2 tbsp of peanut butter left.

This may look like just a peanut butter jar, but it had this delicious concoction inside!

I added some walnuts on top for extra healthy fat and Omega 3s.

About 3/4 through this, I started to feel a little queasy – a result of my long run. I decided to put the rest away and finish it later for snack or dessert.

I left the house for a few quick errands (including a visit to Russo’s – more on that later!) and found myself starving about 2 hours later. The uneasiness in my stomach was officially gone and my stomach was speaking to me! I decided to throw together something quick, easy, and tasty: tabbouleh salad. This is one of my old standbys and it did not fail to disappoint!

This contained:

  • 1/2 cup cooked bulgur (leftover from Monday)
  • ~3/4 cup chickpeas
  • 2 grape tomatoes
  • red bell pepper
  • cucumber (including some from our garden!)
  • red onion
  • artichoke hearts
  • 2 kalamata olives
  • feta cheese
  • Dressing: lemon juice, dijon mustard and olive oil

All mixed up:

Delicious!

After coming up with the name “Jess Finds Balance,” I realized that while I initially meant a healthy balance in terms of food and exercise, I also chose it because I’m in search of balance in ALL aspects of my life, including spiritual/emotional. I’ve added a new “My Two Cents” section on the blog, where I talk about these things. I have a lot more I have to add to this, but it’s a work in progress. Please check it out and let me know what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

