Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Keeping Myself Motivated August 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jessfindsbalance @ 11:59 am

I am grateful for many things, one of which is my unwavering motivation. I am so motivated to buy and prepare healthy foods, exercise regularly, and keep a positive attitude about all of it that it has become my lifestyle. I no longer have to think about many of these things the way I used to several years ago. Having eaten these foods and exercised for so long, I actually crave them and make healthy choices naturally. I don’t give packing lunch or my gym bag the night before much thought anymore. Going to the gym after school is part of my routine. It seems like my car steers itself there!

Don’t get me wrong, I struggle sometimes. On days when my students have been off the wall and I my head is pounding, I go home instead of the gym and eat to the point of oblivion. Other times a tiny voice in my head will throw a temper tantrum and say, “But I want to eat LOTS of unhealthy things!” and I give in. The point isn’t that I have these moments, but that I know that the healthy lifestyle is the one the I live by most of the time. The point is that I get back there as soon as I can and look forward to getting back to my fruits, veggies, and runs.

As my Weight Watchers’ leader, Beth, often says, “Fake it ‘til you make it.” It wasn’t easy at first for me to choose the apple over the cupcake. It still isn’t always easy. I once read in Judith Beck’s Beck Diet Solution that we have two “muscles”: a “resistance muscle” and a “giving in muscle”. Each time you resist taking a second brownie, the “muscle” gets stronger and it gets easier to make the decision the next time. Each time we acquiesce to the desire to just sit on the couch instead of going for a walk, it becomes easier to give in the next time. It is tough to start, but I promise that it does get easier with time!

 

Leave a Reply

