Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Yummy Salad Dressings August 19, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 12:17 pm
Tags: , ,

Before leaving for school, I packed my lunch in my pretty lunch bag:

I had been planning to use up the leftover salmon from Monday night’s dinner and finally got my chance. Lunch today is a salad with these ingredients:


  • spinach
  • tomatoes
  • cucumber
  • red bell pepper
  • red onion
  • mushrooms
  • chopped apple
  • raisins
  • fat free feta cheese
  • salmon



Topped with a recent find that I am in love with: Cindy’s Fig Tahini dressing. I got it at Whole Foods after using it at the salad bar and falling in love with it. It is like a balsamic vinaigrette with a sweet taste. The texture is also nice and thick, thanks to the figs and tahini.


On the side: homemade tortilla chips and some TJ’s hummus.


For dessert, cherries, grapes, and blueberries


I also have this new Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Larabar (new flavor!!!) in case I get hungry mid-morning.


I tried the new Carrot Cake flavor and it was so delicious! I love that Larabars have eight or fewer ingredients, all of which are identifiable and pronounceable! This one has just four ingredients: cashews, dates, chocolate chips, and salt. It has 220 calories, 11 grams of fat, and 4 grams of protein. It’s a very filling snack, but isn’t for you if you like VOLUME!

I have another post that I’ll be putting up later that will go into the “My Two Cents” page about Geneen Roth’s Women Food and God. Be sure to check back later for it!

 

2 Responses to “Yummy Salad Dressings”

  1. Jill E. Says:

    that salad looks super good and i am so jealous that you can get the new larbars still waiting down here in florida. i really liked your post on binge eating. important topic that i feel does not get touched to often in the blog world


Leave a Reply

