Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Super (Clean) Freak August 20, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 9:47 pm
Tags: ,

I love having a clean house, but during the school year, don’t have the energy to keep it quite as clean as I would like. In the summer, I clean at least weekly and love to have a sparkling clean house with a bathroom that smells of bleach. I spent an hour of my afternoon getting the house up to my standards!

Before I launch into this afternoon’s eats, I realized that I forgot to mention that I finished the kale chips that I made on Wednesday while packing my lunch:


Back to this afternoon. After some piano playing, reading, and meditating (more on this later…), I snacked on some Cabot’s fat free cottage cheese with the best pluot I’ve had this summer. Topped with some walnuts, too.


Served in a huge mug:

For dinner, I made two different kinds of individual pizzas. I went to Trader Joe’s on my way home from our picnic lunch to pick up the fix-ins:

Whole wheat pizza dough


Pizza Sauce


Pizza one was topped with:

  • goat cheese
  • roasted kabocha squash
  • caramelized onions (I sauteed a couple slices of white onion in some olive oil)
  • thyme
  • oregano
  • garlic powder

Pizza two was topped with:

  • pizza sauce
  • 2% mozzarella cheese
  • fat free feta cheese
  • roasted eggplant slices
  • garlic powder
  • fresh basil from our garden (added after it came out of the oven)

Fresh out of the oven!


Squash pizza


Eggplant pizza


I took one slice of each (about a quarter of each pizza) to start.


They were both delicious! I loved the moistness of the eggplant one; the mozzarella and sauce really made it taste so decadent. The squash one was more like a flatbread; the goat cheese didn’t melt as much as I’d hoped but it was still tasty nonetheless! After finishing these two, I went back for another slice of the eggplant and a half a slice of the squash.

Dave and I have been talking about going out for ice cream for a while and decided that tonight would be our night! We headed to Truly Yogurt in Wellesley, which has delicious frozen yogurt and ice cream. I got a kiddie size cup of the soft-serve coffee oreo twist frozen yogurt. It was more like a medium size cup; they always give you lots and lots!

I don’t know what they put in there because it tastes so delicious! Definitely tastes better than the 20 calories per ounce they advertise. Dave got milky way ice cream, which was chocolate ice cream with caramel swirl and chocolate chunks. Yumm-o. I had a few bites and it was as good as it sounds.

Off to bed. I have a busy morning planned for tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

