Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

I Heart Chick Flicks August 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — jessfindsbalance @ 4:43 pm

After my breakfast post, my stomach started to feel so much better. Dave and I did our grocery shopping (at no fewer than three different grocery stores!) and I came home hungry! I made myself a small bowl of cereal. I bought this new Kashi Heart to Heart Warm Cinnamon Oat cereal.

It had a nice flavor without being too sweet. It’s amazing how my palate has changed now that I’ve been eating fewer sweets. Some foods just taste too sweet now.

I mixed it with a bit of Fiber One cereal and poured some Almond Breeze on top. I like to use this instead of milk for a lot of things, but the fact that it has no dairy in it was a huge bonus for me today!

After relaxing with Dave a bit, I headed over to meet my friend Rachel for lunch. I picked up lunch from Panera, knowing that I could find some healthy and cheap options there.

I decided to go with the You Pick Two option and chose soup and half a sandwich. (I was a bad blogger and forgot to take pictures! I found a couple on Google images and put the sites where I found them below each picture).

Mediterranean Veggie sandwich, with hummus, feta cheese, and veggies on whole grain bread…


Source: http://www.squidoo.com/panera-bread

…a cup of chicken noodle soup (mine was served in a small cup, not a big bowl like this),

Source: http://biggestmenu.com/rdr/CA/Orange/Panera-Bread-1591152/Low-Fat-Chicken-Noodle-Soup-17058

…and a small Fuji apple for dessert.

Just what the doctor ordered!

After catching up with Rachel and hearing all about her honeymoon to Japan (!), I went to my sister’s for some quality sister time. Hilary (I call her Hilly, though) is so fun and vivacious. She brings out my inner kid and inner goof. I’ve been having a serious craving for one of our favorite movies, Center Stage, all week and she agreed to indulge me.

Center Stage is by no means a quality movie, but it holds a special place in my heart. I probably have watched this a dozen times in my life and plan to watch it several more. It’s a fun chick flick where the girl gets the guy in the end and it leaves me feeling all warm and fuzzy inside.

While watching, I snacked on some cherries,

…my Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Larabar (very tasty!),

…and some Trader Joe’s Omega 3 trail mix with walnuts, pistachios, craisins, sunflower seeds, and raisins.

Now that I’m feeling better, my appetite is catching up with me and making up for my small meals yesterday and this morning. I’m glad that I’m back to normal! I’ll be back later tonight with dinner: We’re making Spicy Seafood Pasta All’arrabiata!

 

Leave a Reply

