Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

A Good Breakfast is the Best Way to Start Your Day! August 23, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 7:34 am
Tags:

I woke up this morning with my stomach still feeling a little iffy, but I decided to go ahead and make myself a more normal breakfast, thinking that having some food in my belly would appease it. I decided on a whole wheat blueberry pancake recipe from Green Lite Bites.

First, I combined the following dry ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp ground flax

I mixed that up well and then combined and mixed these ingredients in a different bowl:

  • 1/4 cup almond breeze
  • splash of egg whites
  • vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • small squirt of honey

Then, I added all of the ingredients and folded blueberries into the mixture. I cooked them over medium-high heat in a well-greased pan. I didn’t wait long enough before flipping them and a couple of them came out not so pretty, but they were still very yummy!

With pancake syrup poured on top and sprinkled with blueberries and walnuts:

Mmmm…

I’m off to school for a meeting with the other 8th grade history teachers. They’re being so kind by sharing all their resources with me since I’ll be new to the curriculum. I’m glad that the teachers on the 8th grade floor are so warm and welcoming šŸ™‚ Have a happy Monday!

 

Leave a Reply

