Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Boston Organics August 23, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 7:40 pm
Tags: , , ,

Dave & I have been ruminating about signing up for a weekly organics delivery and we finally signed up for Boston Organics! After hearing about our friend Morgan’s blog, Highland Test Kitchen, and seeing what she’s been doing with her box, we jumped at the opportunity. For $24, we are getting the “small” half-vegetable, half-fruit box, which this week will have bananas, apples, pears, nectarines, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, and lettuce, among other things. I’ll tell you all about it, but I have a good feeling about this purchase!

I had about five very productive hours at school today. I’m feeling much more confident about teaching this new curriculum and have some homework to do before I start teaching the first unit. I’m so grateful to the other two history teachers who are willing to let me take all of their resources!
I headed to Healthworks after school (getting back into my school-year routine) with the lofty goal of doing some speedwork on the treadmill today. My STILL upset tummy changed those plans and I decided to take it easy with some elliptical. I only managed to do 40 minutes of cardio before my stomach’s protests made me stop. I’m so bummed that my body is not back to itself! I’ve decided to call my doctor tomorrow to see what she has to say.

I came home and felt snacky, despite my tummy troubles. Against my better judgement I ate…

…one banana…

…one (unpictured) whole wheat wrap…
…a very small bowl of Kashi Warm Cinnamon Oats cereal…


(this is where it gets really ludacris)…one Weight Watchers Giant Fudge ice cream bar…


…and one deep chocolate vitamuffin.


My stomach isn’t feeling worse than it was before my snacking, but it isn’t feeling better. I must say that while I didn’t listen to my body as I should have (and have been doing really well in past weeks), this is a HUGE improvement on what I used to call snacky behavior, which meant two or three times as much food as I ate here. It’s so very important to give ourselves credit where credit is due. Anyway, dinner will probably consist of something boring like plain toast. I’m sorry for the boring eats! I’m tired of them, too!
Dave was out at a work site in western Mass today, so I volunteered to make him dinner so that it would be ready when he came home. I made (what he said was a very yummy) chicken sausage, zucchini, tomato and feta orzo pasta. He put some in a little tupperware for me to have when I’m feeling more up to it.
Stay tuned tomorrow for a post on meditation!

 

Leave a Reply

