Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Gray and Dreary August 24, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 8:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

It’s been such an icky few days here in Boston, with highs only in the 60s and lots of showers! I miss the sun and beautiful weather we had at the end of last week, but there’s something nice about being in my house in my PJs when it’s gray and rainy out. I’m taking full advantage of the weather and spent the afternoon in my favorite flannel reindeer pajama pants doing lots of relaxing things.

The gym this morning was great! I’m feeling so much better and think that whatever it is that was with me for the last week or so is finally working its way out of my system. I did an easy 30 minute jog before spinning class started. I felt great and it was nice to get my legs moving again! Spinning class was challenging but fun, with lots of hills, sprints, jumps, and endurance. I was nervous about body pump, but doing the exercise surprisingly made my stomach feel better. It was great to use my muscles again! I’m so glad that I decided to give body pump a try again and think that my exercise hiatus has come to an end. By the way, the my current weights for body pump are:

  • Warm-up: 18 pounds
  • Squats: 43 pounds
  • Chest: 28 pounds
  • Back: 33 pounds
  • Triceps: 7.5 pounds for kickbacks, 12.5 pounds for dips and overhead presses
  • Biceps: 18 pounds
  • Shoulders: 7.5 pounds for raises, 18 pounds for shoulder and overhead raises
  • Abs: body weight

I’ve been increasing my weight a lot recently and I love seeing the results. I think it will be a while before I make any increases as I recently bumped up my weight on all of the tracks and suffering though it!
After the gym, I snacked on half of the banana bread Larabar to tide my hunger over while I was running some errands until I got home for lunch.

When I got home, my stomach was feeling so much better and I was eager to try the meal we made last night: chicken sausage, zucchini, tomatoes, feta and orzo. I decided to bulk it up with some fresh spinach for some extra veggies.

For dessert, I had a small bowl of cherries with a glass of iced decaf Secret Dreams coffee.

After lots of relaxing, I was hungry for an afternoon snack and went with a favorite: honey greek yogurt, half of a chopped peach, and walnuts sprinkled with cinnamon.

Do you love my huge mug?!

And some decaf Chai tea.

My sister-in-law got me this mug. Sums me up perfectly 🙂

Dave & I had found a recipe on Eating Well for chicken shish kebabs with tahini sauce to make for dinner tonight. We marinated 3 medium sized chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces in:

  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 – 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground allspice
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • freshly ground pepper

We let that sit for a couple hours. Once they were done, we threaded them onto soaked wooden skewers (the soaking makes sure that the wood doesn’t burn!) and broiled them for about 5 minutes on each side. They were cooked to perfection!

I also made tahini sauce, the ingredients for which are:

  • 2 tbsp or so of tahini
  • splash of water
  • splash of lemon juice
  • garlic powder
  • salt

I mixed that up until it had a nice, smooth and creamy consistency.

I also decided that we were in serious need of some vegetables and whipped together an Israeli salad. An Israeli salad is really a salad with chopped vegetables, but in the States, it usually includes:

  • finely chopped tomato
  • finely chopped cucumber
  • finely chopped red onion
  • chopped parsley
  • lemon juice
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper


I put my chicken skewer into a whole wheat wrap with some roasted eggplant (I have so much of this – you’ll be seeing a lot of this over the next few days…), and drizzled some tahini sauce on top.

Israeli salad:

My plate:

My eyes were larger than my stomach and I wasn’t able to finish all the salad. This meal was so easy and so delicious. It is a keeper and we will definitely make it again!

We also broke out the banana pudding pops. I guess that we didn’t let them freeze enough last time, because tonight they managed to stay on the sticks. Frozen banana bread…

Another recipe we will be making again!

Off to spend some quality time with the hubby 🙂 G’night.

 

Leave a Reply

