Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Protein Power August 25, 2010

Filed under: Food,Opinion — jessfindsbalance @ 7:34 am
Tags: ,

I am headed into school this morning again and wanted to make myself a breakfast that would keep me satisfied and full for most of the morning. I find that I need protein (and lots of it!) in my breakfast to keep my mind on work and not my belly.

I decided to make an omelet with artichoke hearts, tomatoes, mushrooms and colby jack cheese.

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg + splash of egg whites from a carton
  • 3 artichoke heart quarters from a can, chopped
  • 2 yellow grape tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 small crimini mushrooms, finely chopped
  • 1 Sargento Light colby jack cheese stick, chopped

I sauteed the veggies in a bit of olive oil over medium-high heat until they were soft. Next, I added the egg mixture and let it cook over medium heat, covered, until it was cooked on top. Then, I added the colby jack cheese pieces and folded the egg in half to let it cook.

Delicious! It might not look like there are any veggies in there because of the all yellow color, but trust me, there were 🙂 I loved how the sweetness of the tomato complemented the taste of the artichoke. The colby jack cheese was a nice touch, too.

With a piece of whole wheat toast on the side for some whole grains:

And iced decaf coffee, of course 🙂

What breakfast sticks to your ribs the most?

 

Leave a Reply

