Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Quinoa is My Friend August 25, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 12:26 pm
Tags: ,

When I was doing the now retired Core plan on Weight Watchers, I discovered quinoa. Quinoa is often classified as a grain, but is really a seed. I love it for its texture, the high protein in it, and the fact that it is kosher for Passover! I love making cold quinoa salads and hadn’t had one in a while. Last night I decided I was well overdue.

To make quinoa, I boiled a little over 1 cup of chicken broth with 2/3 cup of quinoa (the ratio is 2 parts quinoa to 3 parts liquid). Once it reached a boil, I let it simmer until the quinoa soaked up all the liquid, adding more liquid if it wasn’t soft enough.

While the quinoa was cooking, I also roasted some asparagus spears in olive oil (375 for about 10-15 minutes).

Once that was done, I mixed up a nice salad with:

  • quinoa
  • asaparagus, chopped
  • cucumber, chopped
  • tomatoes, chopped
  • red onion, chopped
  • bell pepper, chopped
  • kalamata olives, chopped
  • fat free feta crumbles

I mixed up a dressing of sherry vinegar, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, garlic powder and dill.

Voila!

I used these cucumbers from our garden. For some reason, they all grow in this shape and to be about the size of a ping-pong ball… They taste good, though, so I guess that’s what’s important.

With half of a sliced ginormous peach for dessert. Sliced fruit is so much more fun to eat than whole!

I also have a pomegranate greek yogurt (my favorite flavor!)with my mini spoon for a midmorning snack, if I get hungry:

I’m heading to the gym after school to do some speedwork on the treadmill and some ab work, too. Hope your Wednesday is going well so far!
What lesser-known ingredient do you love to cook with? What are your favorite ways to prepare it?

 

Leave a Reply

