Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Ready, Set, Go! August 25, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 8:14 pm
Tags: , ,

I am now feeling pretty ready for school, in terms of preparation. I’m still not ready to end what has been a truly wonderful and relaxing summer vacation! I got a lot done at school this morning and brought some stuff home with me to do over the next few days. I even photocopied my handouts for about 3 weeks in advance! That’s how I roll…

It’s still very rainy and gross in Boston (sun tomorrow, methinks) so I kept my workout indoors. I hit the treadmill for what was an amazing speedwork session! Here’s the breakdown:

1 mile warm-up

.25 miles at 7.0 mph

.25 miles at 6.3 mph

.25 miles at 7.1 mph

.25 miles at 6.3 mph

I kept alternating and working my way up to 8.0 mph, which is about a 7:30 minute mile pace. In total, I ran about 6.6 miles in 60 minutes. I ended up running for twice as long as I’d planned! I love when I have good runs…

I finished up my workout with some foam-rolling for my tight IT bands, lots of stretching, and a twenty minute-long abs video. This video is hard! I am in good shape and it still burns every time I do it! Not for the faint of heart…

After my workout, I was pretty hungry, so I snacked on the other half a Larabar that I ate yesterday. It really does taste like banana bread! I have yet to taste a Larabar flavor that I haven’t loved.

Around 5:30, while making dinner for Dave (he’s been out at a work site in Western Mass, so I volunteered to make him his beer-flavored black beans – I know, I’m a nice wife), I also snacked on some cherries:

His bean recipe was looking good to me until I added half a bomber of beer – eww. I wish I liked beer, but it just doesn’t do it for me! It took much longer than we’d anticipated for his dinner to cook, so we didn’t eat until pretty late. Dinner for me was a roasted vegetable sandwich with roasted eggplant, peppers, zucchini, onion and asparagus on a whole wheat Arnolds thin with melted mozzarella and fresh basil.

I had initially planned on grilling the veggies, but with the weather being so gross out, I decided to oven-roast them instead. After spraying them in olive oil and sprinkling them with some Penzey’s sandwich sprinkles, I put them in the oven at 425 degrees for 10 minutes. These sandwich sprinkles are so yummy!

Ingredients:

My plate (that’s Dave’s beer in the background, obviously not mine):

Sweet potato fries are the perfect accompaniment! (425 degrees for 15 minutes on one side, 5 on the other)

Yum 🙂 This is my idea of comfort food. I absolutely love grilled/roasted veggie sandwiches with mozzarella. Sweet potatoes are pretty darn good, too. Now I’m absolutely stuffed and can’t even contemplate finding room in my belly for dessert. I’m so grateful for the fact that I’m feeling all better! Off to relax. I have an early morning planned for tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

