Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Happiness Pill August 26, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 2:05 pm
Tags: ,

After the several days of rain and gray skies, I am so loving this beautiful weather we have here in Boston today: 81 degrees, sunny, and no humidity.

I spent tons of time this morning/early afternoon out in the sun and I swear, the vitamin D from the sunshine does wonders for my happiness levels! It looks like the next few days here will be utterly gorgeous and I plan on making the most out of the end of my summer vacation.

My workout this morning was great. I did 1.5 miles on the treadmill (I’d planned to do more, but wasn’t feeling it) and then a half-hour on the elliptical. I didn’t want to push myself too hard because I have a long run planned for tomorrow morning. I also had an awesome body pump class, my last Thursday morning class before school starts! I’ll miss the instructor and my morning workouts 😦

I came home from Healthworks hungry! I made myself a small bowl (even though it was served in a huge mug) of some fat free cottage cheese with chopped pluot and blueberries.

Teaching a new curriculum at school this year means that I need to learn some history! I sat outside with my book and materials with some iced tea. If I had to work, I may as well enjoy the sunshine, too!

For lunch, I have tons of food and leftovers in the fridge that I know I need to eat in the next couple days before they spoil (why did I buy the eggplant the size of my head again?!), but I was craving a salad with Annie’s Goddess dressing. Who would have thought that tahini, cider vinegar and soy sauce would go so well together? I’m so glad I decided to stop eating calorie free dressings and eat the really good stuff! It made my salad so tasty.


The salad ingredients:

  • spinach
  • yellow tomatoes
  • cucumber
  • red bell pepper
  • red onion
  • roasted eggplant
  • mushroom
  • artichoke hearts
  • fat free feta crumbles
  • falafel balls
  • lentils

With a small serving of homemade pita chips on the side:

Off to read my book. After all that time in the sun, I need to relax indoors!

What things make you happy? Aside from the sun, puppies, running babies, and farmers’ markets also make me smile 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

