Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Ribbit Ribbit August 26, 2010

Filed under: Food,Reviews — jessfindsbalance @ 9:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

We received our first box from Boston Organics!!! Boston Organics delivers a box of organic fruits and veggies every week for a very affordable price.

This week, we got

  • 1 lb. Paula Red apples
  • 1 lb bananas
  • 2 small cucumbers
  • 1 pint of edamame
  • 1 nectarine
  • 1 Valencia organge
  • 1 Bartlett pear
  • 1 pluot
  • 1 lb. of red vine tomatoes
  • 1 lb. yams
  • 1 lb. summer squash
  • 1 head of Romaine lettuce

And my neighbor gave me some of his tomatoes! He has a garden full of them. I wonder what we did wrong to only get 5 tomatoes this summer?


I got to work with the edamame. We had a half of an avocado left from earlier this week and I decided to make edamame guacamole.

First, I boiled the edamame until they were soft. Then, I shelled them and pulsed them in a food processor until they were smooth. I combined this with the mashed up avocado, chopped cherry tomatoes, chopped red onion, lime juice, salt, and oregano. I was surprised that it tasted just like normal guacamole! Aside from a bit of grittiness in the texture, I wouldn’t have noticed that it was any different. I tested it out with a couple baby carrots. I love that a simple addition like this adds a lot of protein to an already nutritious dip!

I also snacked on some of the edamame as I was shelling it. I didn’t get a good enough picture to post. Sorry 😦

I also had some tofu from last weekend that I wanted to use up and tested out Caitlin’s recipe for baked tofu. I wrapped the tofu in several paper towels and sandwiched them between two plates for 15 minutes. I mixed some honey, olive oil, salt, pepper and paprika in a bowl and nuked it in the microwave for 30 seconds. Then I tossed the tofu in the marinade and baked it in the toaster oven at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes. It was so good I ate it all instead of keeping it for tomorrow’s lunch like I’d planned 🙂

I snacked a bit this afternoon, but it wasn’t a lot of food. Even still, when I came home around 7:00, I wasn’t all that hungry. On the dinner menu was Bobby Flay’s Argentinian burgers, grilled potato wedges (sweet potato for me), and some salad using the ingredients from our Boston Organics box.

Salad, drizzled with Cindy’s Fig Tahini dressing:

Made with our fresh organic romaine and tomato!

Burger (a turkey burger topped with thinly sliced manchego cheese, red onion, and a chimichurri paste [1 cup fresh parsley, 3 garlic cloves, 2 tbsp. red wine vinegar, 2-3 tbsp. olive oil, salt, pepper and smoked paprika, pulsed in a food processor] on a whole wheat bun):

Sweet potato wedges on the side.

My appetite was so small that I only ate half of the food on my plate, but ate most of the salad. While we were eating, Dave noticed something moving in the flowerbed. It was a frog! He let us get pretty close to him before hopping a bit and scaring the bejesus out of me. We don’t know where he came from, but he must have traveled a long way to see us.

For dessert, I had half of large, delicious and juicy peach, sliced, with some cherries…

…and a Weight Watchers Giant Fudge ice cream bar.

I can’t believe it’s already 9 PM! I’m off to spend some quality time with the hubby.

 

Leave a Reply

