Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Sandwiches Galore! August 27, 2010

Filed under: Food,Reviews — jessfindsbalance @ 11:12 pm
Tags: , ,

After getting home from my pedicure, I was feeling particularly snacky this afternoon. Maybe it was the hunger of my run catching up? I recognized that this could get dangerous quickly and stopped pretty quickly. We had plans to go out to dinner and I wanted to have an appetite!

The first snack: Honey greek yogurt with a chopped pluot and chopped walnuts

Snack #2: A small bowl of Kashi Warm Cinnamon Heart to Heart cereal

Snack #3: An unpictured Weight Watchers Giant Fudge ice cream bar.

We met Dana and Greg in Boston for dinner at a restaurant called the Parish Cafe.

The Parish Cafe has a menu of sandwiches created by different chefs in the Boston area. They also had a nice bar selection (of which I didn’t partake, naturally). We waited for about an hour so that we could get a table outside. It was just such a beautiful evening and it was a waste to sit in an air conditioned room!

As an appetitzer, we ordered the white bean dip plate. It had pita wedges, kalamata olives, roasted red peppers, pickled red onions, feta cheese and white bean hummus. I wasn’t terribly hungry, so I ate one pita wedge topped with the hummus, roasted red peppers and feta. I also had some pickled onions, which I liked a lot! My kind of appetizer. I swear, I could eat this all day every day for the rest of my life and never get bored!

My plate:


For dinner, I ordered the Pudding Portobello Sandwich: Portobello mushrooms, casa de roma cheese, onion marmalade and a walnut-parsley pesto on focaccia bread. Served with mixed greens and a white bean salad topped with an herb vinaigrette. (Source)

I really liked the sandwich! I liked the combination of the mushrooms and cheese, the softness of both really complemented each other. It was so big and my appetite was pretty small, so I ended up only eating half of the sandwich, but all of the white bean salad. I asked for the vinaigrette on the side, but because the salad was already so flavorful, I didn’t even end up using it.

A fun night with good company. We always have fun with those two! I’m off to bed. I have an early date at the gym for some body pump!

 

Leave a Reply

