Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Bottomless Pit August 28, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 9:30 pm
Tags:

I have felt like such a bottomless pit today! I have been hungry almost all day. I think it’s mostly yesterday’s 9 miler catching up with me, along with a lack of dietary fat in tonight’s meal.

Snack one this afternoon was an organic pear (from our Boston Organics box) with a Trader Joe’s goat cheese medallion (instant portion control!) and almonds:

Snack two was a Joseph’s pita with a light Sargento’s colby jack cheese stick. These pitas are awesome! They are small (which is nice for snacks and chip-making) but have a nice soft texture and are very healthy nutrition-wise.

Snack three was some carrots with Trader Joe’s smooth and creamy spicy hummus. This stuff is soooo good.

(In case you’re wondering, I didn’t eat ALL of those carrots!)

We went over to Dave’s brother and sister-in-law’s tonight. They’ve been away all summer, so we haven’t seen our 9 month-old twin nieces since May! They are so much bigger but still just as adorable 🙂 They were kind enough to make us dinner, which included jasmine scented chicken stirfry with white rice, grilled asparagus and corn on the cob. I figured that I didn’t need both corn and rice, so I just ate served myself a bit of white rice, a big spoonful of the chicken stirfry, and a couple asparagus spears.

I was still hungry (probably due to the lack of fat in the meal) and got a second helping of rice and stirfry. For dessert, I ate a(n unpictured) bite of a molasses cookie.

Despite the fact that I’d had enough food, I still had that anxious hungry feeling in my stomach, which I know isn’t true hunger. I’ve learned that it has to do with the satiety factor of my food. When I don’t get enough carbs, protein or fat, I get that insatiable “hunger.” I’m glad I was able to recognize it for what it was and not let it become an all-out binge.

When I got home, I did indulge in a deep chocolate vitamuffin with a sugar-free dark chocolate pudding cup, sprinkled with walnuts. It satisfied both my sweets craving and my need for some healthy fat.

Now I’m sipping some iced coffee just to keep my mouth busy. It’s been 3 1/2 weeks since my last binge, which is probably the longest I’ve gone without bingeing since I developed BED (binge eating disorder) about 7 years ago. Every day that I continue to eat balanced meals and in moderation, the prouder I get. I want to keep that streak going as long as I possibly can! Hope you’re all enjoying your weekends so far 🙂

 

One Response to “Bottomless Pit”

  1. Bottomless Pit « Jess Finds Balance…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…


Leave a comment