Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

A Lovely Sunday Morning August 29, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 12:56 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve had such a nice day so far, and it’s only 12:30! I set my alarm early this morning (7:00) to start getting myself ready to wake up at 5:45. I did a pretty good job of not getting into a late to bed, late to rise kind of schedule this summer, but getting back to my school routine is going to be quite the adjustment!

I ate my typical pre-workout breakfast, a whole wheat sandwich thin with almond butter, sliced banana and cinnamon.


We finally used up the Stop & Shop brand cinnamon we had and I broke out the fancy Penzey’s cinnamon we got as part of an engagement gift. It had such an interesting flavor and I loved it!

I headed to the gym for a spin class. I love this instructor; she’s very sweet but gives you a tough workout! Because of our many weekends away this summer, I hadn’t been to her class in a while. It was good to get back to it! I got to the gym early, so I hopped on the elliptical for 30 minutes before spinning. I also bumped into Gia at the gym and we had a nice time catching up. Seeing her always makes my day 🙂

In other exercise-related news, I think I injured my left foot on Friday’s 9 mile run. It hurts on the outer side into the front of my foot. The run also caused a flare-up in my Achilles tendonitis on the same foot. I’ve decided to take a break from running until it gets all better and I feel no pain. Please wish it a fast recovery!

I came home from the gym and got to work on some gluten-free cupcakes for a coworkers birthday tomorrow. Betty Crocker makes awesome gluten-free mixes – they don’t taste all that different from the normal kind. I’ll frost them later today.

(The box has a big gaping hole in it where I cut out the Box Tops for Education. I always bring these in to school when I find them!)

Lunch today was a favorite: Black Bean Quinoa Salad with Lemon-Basil Dressing. It’s an adaptation from a Cooking Light recipe. I had some leftover quinoa that I’d made earlier this week that I wanted to finish up.

First, I made the dressing. I picked some fresh basil from our thriving basil plant.

I chopped it up and mixed it with a couple tbsp. of olive oil, lemon juice, dijon mustard, salt, pepper and garlic powder.

I added it to the quinoa and mixed it well.

Next, I added some chopped tomato (an organic one from our Boston Organics box!), minced red onion and chopped carrot.

Then some rinsed and drained black beans (from a can).

Lastly, some edamame (also from our Boston Organics delivery).

I served the salad over some spinach. Yumm-o!

I also have some leftovers, so tomorrow’s lunch is taken care of!

Cherries and green (crisp!) grapes for dessert.

I love eating these light foods. They fill me up without filling me out and without leaving me that heavy feeling. A mostly vegetarian diet is the way to go for me!

Dave and I are off to do some blueberry and raspberry picking. Fruit picking is one of my favorite outdoor activities and I’ve been waiting patiently all summer!

 

4 Responses to “A Lovely Sunday Morning”

  1. chloé Says:

    what a nice breakfast!!e Think I’ll try out the recipe! I have been trying to find ways to cook the box of quinoa that has been sitting in my cabinet begging for attention 🙂

  2. Mrs Jeas Says:

    It is always wonderful to see you Jess. Seeing you also makes my day!!
    I will try to do the pilates with you starting in 2 weeks on tuesdays because this week Ro is getting her stitches out at 4. Tomorrow will be a great day. Let me know how the gluten free cupcakes turnout they sound delicious!

  3. […] 31, 2010 I made black eye pea salad with quinoa yesterday! Inspired by Jess’s recipe. This was the first time I cooked quinoa. I couldn’t believe how tasty it […]


Leave a Reply

