Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Planner Extraordinaire August 29, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 7:46 pm
Tags:

I was so excited to go blueberry picking today! It is one of the activities I look forward to all summer and it seemed like the perfect way to spend my last day of summer vacation before I head back to school.

Dave and I drove 30 minutes to the farm we went to last year. Upon our arrival, we were informed that they weren’t doing U-pick blueberries (or raspberries for that matter) anymore because the season had come and gone! I was so upset because I’d checked their website, which said that it was still blueberry and raspberry season. I guess with all the warm weather we’ve had, the crop came early this year. So we turned right around and came back home. (Pouty face.)

I had a mid-afternoon snack of some fat free cottage cheese with a small chopped pluot (from the Boston Organics box – we are definitely making good use out of this!) and some walnuts.


I spent the rest of the afternoon planning and getting ready for school. It wasn’t a fun way to spend my day, but it definitely puts me in a more confident position. I’ve planned my entire first unit, which should last me the better part of September. Blame my obsessive tendencies and slight anxiety for always being such a planner! When I was in college, I would complete essays weeks in advance, beginning them in the days after they were assigned. I know some people work better under pressure at the last minute, but I like to know that it’s all done and taken care of!

I also iced the cupcakes for my coworker’s birthday. I may or may not have licked the icing spoon clean 🙂

For dinner, we made a sockeye salmon fillet marinated in lemon juice, rosemary and thyme. On the side, we made whole wheat couscous (cooked with Organic chicken broth – a cheap Costco find!) and sauteed summer squash, zucchini, mushrooms and onions. Olive oil and McCormick’s Roasted Garlic & Herb seasoning made the veggies flavorful.

Salad to start. Drizzled with some lo-cal balsamic vinaigrette.

My plate:

I can’t believe that the first day for teachers is tomorrow. I’m still in denial! I’m doing relaxing things this evening, like piano-playing, crossword-puzzling and husbanding. Hope your weekend was as nice as mine!

 

Leave a Reply

