Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Fake It ‘Til You Make It August 30, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food,Reviews — jessfindsbalance @ 8:11 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Work today went pretty well. I feel really confident about my plans for the next few days and relatively calm, considering tomorrow is the first day of school. My move to the 8th grade has been a good one so far. The other 8th grade teachers are really warm and welcoming, which is so nice, but at the same time, I miss my 6th grade friends! I was blissfully happy teaching 6th grade; my teammates were great, the curriculum was engaging and I loved the age group I was working with. I know that I will enjoy 8th grade, but I’m still upset about being forced to by my principal. In the meantime, I’m going to keep a smile on my face and fake happiness until I truly find it.

Even though I’d packed some cottage cheese with tomatoes and cucumbers for a snack, I didn’t end up eating it. I did, however, eat an unplanned handful of grapes, extra almonds and these two prunes pre-workout.

I’m so glad I got to the gym this afternoon! I like to start the year off on the right foot by working out my stress and exhaustion at the gym. I did 60 minutes on the elliptical and then body pump. It’ll take some getting time getting back into my afternoon workout schedule. I’m really a morning exerciser at heart, but afternoon workouts have been working well while I’ve been teaching!

I came home to find Dave hard at work in the kitchen. We knew that we wouldn’t be getting home until pretty late today, so we threw together a crockpot recipe: vegetarian bean chili. Last night, we sauteed some chopped white onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, and jalapeno. Then, we threw it into the crockpot with 1 large can of crushed tomatoes, 1 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes, 1 small can of corn, chopped carrots, cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper and cayenne pepper. Overnight, we soaked some dried black beans and then put them into the pot with the other ingredients. We let it cook on the low setting for about 10 hours. Slow cookers are awesome! It requires little preparation, although you also need to plan ahead. I love walking in the door and having dinner waiting!

We also made some cheddar cornmeal biscuits with chives, which we found on Eating Well. They were so yummy and the perfect accompaniment to the chili!

I also had a bite of some manchego cheese.

My serving (about 1 – 1 1/2 cups of chili), topped with some low-fat shredded cheddar cheese and a dollop of plain fat free greek yogurt. The biscuit was perfect for dipping.

I ended up going back for a small serving of seconds and another half of a biscuit. It was all delicious!

Grapes and blueberries for dessert.

I was craving some chocolate, so I had a Weight Watchers Giant Fudge bar. I think the craving really came from my sadness over summer vacation coming to an end and starting a new year. Even though I was in the mood for more sweets, I drew the line and had a diet peach Snapple to fill up my belly and call an end to the night.

I’m off to do some relaxing things as a last hurrah before tomorrow. Hope you’re enjoying your evening!

 

Leave a Reply

