Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Pooped August 31, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 7:46 pm
Tags: , , ,

My first day was a success! Being a teacher on the first day of school for 8th grade is infinitely easier than for 6th grade; the kids know the lay of the land, the rules, and how to open a locker. When I was a 6th grade teacher, I easily spent 2 hours teaching and reteaching (ad nauseum) how to open their lockers. I kid you not. I needed the patience of a saint! It also seems like we have a great team of kids, so I’m pretty excited. And like I predicted, my room hit 95 degrees today and felt like a sauna. When those kids came back from gym class, they reeked! I’m hoping that tomorrow is the last day of this uber hot weather. The heat itself is so exhausting!

Yet again, I didn’t end up eating the cottage cheese from yesterday, but I’m definitely going to eat it tomorrow! And like I predicted, I didn’t make it to the gym. I hadn’t had a day off since last Sunday and figured I was due, not to mention the fact that sitting on my couch in the air conditioning sounded more appealing.

After taking a nice cool shower upon arriving home, I found myself snacking on a couple handfuls of cereal and decided that I was in need of a real snack. I chose some baby carrots and a couple kashi crackers with Trader Joe’s smooth and creamy spicy hummus.

I also snacked on a couple unpictured grapes and some trail mix.

I cooked two things tonight: vegetarian Greek pasta for dinner and ratatouille for tomorrow’s lunch. They’re both easy and require little prep and working time, so it was a piece of cake.

For the ratatouille, I sauteed garlic (4 cloves), 1/2 white onion and 1/3 large green bell pepper in some olive oil. Then, I added 1/2 sliced summer squash, 1/4 sliced zucchini and 2 mini eggplants until they were soft. I dumped in a can of diced tomatoes, lots of herbs de provence and 1 bay leaf. I let the simmer until the flavors were well developed and the veggies were soft. I seasoned with salt and pepper to taste. You can find a picture of the finished product in tomorrow’s lunch post.

The Greek pasta is one of my favorite recipes that I created myself. First, I saute garlic, white onion, bell pepper and mushrooms in olive oil. Next, I add thinly sliced zucchini and saute everything until it is soft. I throw in some diced tomatoes and Greek seasoning, a Penzeys spice I received as part of a gift. While that’s cooking, I boil some whole wheat pasta (I used penne this time) and when everything’s cooked, I add the pasta to the veggie mixture and mix well.

Topped with fat free feta for protein and flavor.

Feta makes my food world go ’round.

I ended up eating more of this than I probably needed to. I have an urge to eat (my lack of appetite from the heat catching up with me? Let down from the first day of school?) and ended up eating bites of shredded mozzarella, more trail mix and grapes.

I could tell that I wanted something sweet (also probably related to heart hunger) and that the longer I avoided giving in, the more I would end up eating to try to satisfy the “need” to indulge. So, I decided on a deep chocolate vitamuffin with some chocolate-banana soft serve “ice cream.” To make the soft serve, I put a frozen banana with a heaping tbsp. of unsweetened cocoa powder in my food processor and let it rip until everything was smooth.

Tada! Yumm-o!

I promise that the vitamuffin is under there! The key to making the soft serve is that it has to be an overripe banana. This is what makes it (naturally) sweet and creamy!

I’ve decided that the kitchen is closed for the night. I definitely don’t need any more food for today. I’m so proud of myself for recognizing this desire to eat as heart hunger and saying “no” to it. The more we exercise that resistance muscle, the stronger it gets for the next time the urge arises. Off to watch some wedding shows on my DVR and read my chick lit book!

 

Leave a Reply

