Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

The Big Day! August 31, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 6:23 am
Tags: ,

It’s finally here! The first day of school. This is my third year as a full-time teacher and I must say that it does get easier each year. I feel pretty calm and collected, aside from those first-day jitters and poor night’s sleep in anticipation of today’s events. It’s ok, I have a nice big iced coffee to sip throughout the morning 🙂

Ready to go!

(Sorry about the bad quality – my “dressing room” is not well lit!)

I wanted a filling breakfast to start my day: banana oatmeal pancakes.
Last night, I combined:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1 heaping tbsp. flax seeds
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla

I added ~1 tsp. baking powder this morning. (Note: you don’t have to mix this up the night before, but I just wanted to cut down on the prep time). Then cooked on a well-greased pan over medium-high heat, covered.

Topped with almond butter on some, syrup, blueberries and crushed walnuts on the other.


Wish me luck!

 

4 Responses to “The Big Day!”

  1. chloé Says:

    Good luck Jess! Really loved the quinoa salad. I used black eye peas instead. But it was so yummy! Thanks again:)

  2. Emma Says:

    Good luck! I hope you like 8th graders as much as I did!

  3. Mitzi Says:

    Yay! Good luck Jess! I’m sure that you will rock their socks! ❤


Leave a Reply

