Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Stressed, I Guess September 1, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 8:38 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m absolutely wiped so I’m going to make this as short and sweet as possible so I can go crawl in bed with my book! School today was great. I’m really liking our kids and working with 8th graders is feeling pretty natural. While I’m hesitant to say that I prefer 8th grade to 6th grade (it is only the 2nd day of school, after all) I think I can say with confidence that this is going to be a good year.

Aside from the snacks I packed today, I also ate this new Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Larabar. It was really tasty!

I also picked up a Coke Zero on my way to the gym. After another day in my classroom where temps reached 95, I thought I could use a caffeine hit to get me motivated! I had a great run at the gym; my foot seems to be all better! I did a tempo run, reaching an 8:00 mile and covering about 3.15 miles in 30 minutes. I also did 15 minutes of elliptical before getting to body pump. As always, the class was tons of fun and the hour flew by. I think that when I go to my next class I’m going to up my weight on the squat track to 48 pounds. I’m a strong babe!

When I got home from the gym, Dave had dinner waiting for me. Our first course was a garden salad with spinach, tomatoes (from the garden!), cuke, bell pepper, red onion, mushroom, chickpeas and a drizzling of Annie’s Goddess dressing. This stuff is so yummy.

Dinner was Emily’s tomato pie. We made ours with polenta and it was soooo good! I topped mine with chopped fresh basil.

My plate:

I ate this and then another helping.

A peach for dessert.

After trying to fight off my craving for a Giant Fudge bar, I gave in. It was everything I hoped it would be!

Later in the evening, I indulged in way too much snacking, which included homemade tortilla chips, blueberries, and ice cream (out of the carton – never a good sign). When I eat when I’m not hungry, it’s a sign that something else is going on. I think that I’m so exhausted from getting back into the swing of things at school in addition to the fact that I had to make our lunches when I really wanted to be sitting down. Luckily, I was able to listen to the rational part of me that was talking and stop before it got too bad. Like I said yesterday, it’s so important to recognize when we’ve made progress! Even still, I’m hoping that this stress-eating is something that will go away once I readjust to my school schedule. I’ll keep you updated!

That was way longer than I intended it to be. Off to bed I go!

 

Leave a Reply

