Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Vegetarian at Heart September 1, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 12:26 pm
Tags: ,

Even though I eat fish and poultry, I am really happiest when I have a dish filled with veggies and beans in front of me! We received summer squash with our Boston Organics box last week and I knew that ratatouille was in order. Ratatouille is a French summer vegetable stew, using eggplant, tomatoes, onion, bell peppers and summer squash, seasoned with herbs de provence and bay leaves. See how I made the dish here.

For some whole grains, I added whole wheat couscous and for protein, chickpeas and low fat shredded mozzarella.

Snacks for the day include a plum with a light colby jack cheese stick and a small container of almonds (~ 12 almonds)

Baby carrots and red bell pepper strips with TJ’s spicy hummus.

And the cottage cheese with tomato and cucumber. It’s definitely getting eaten today!

I’m heading to the gym after school for some cardio and body pump. My foot feels so much better and I’m thinking of taking a short jog to test the waters. If not, I’ll resort to the plain ol’ elliptical. I’m keeping my fingers crossed!

 

One Response to “Vegetarian at Heart”

  1. Jen Says:

    I think I’m a vegetarian at heart too, just haven’t made the leap yet!

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

