Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Deliciousness on a Bun September 3, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 7:36 pm
Tags: , , , ,

For the rest of the afternoon, I felt like eating. Chalk it up to the fact that I’m PMSing, I guess. I once read Kath’s article that says that our metabolism actually increases during this time, which makes us hungry. So, your body actually does want/need more food. Even still, I don’t like feeling like I can’t get enough food. I did a pretty good job of not giving in, although there is room for improvement.

While waiting for the water to boil for these sprouted beans I received in my Boston Organics box, I munched on a few raw ones.

About an hour before we ate dinner, I was still in the mood to snack and broke out my leftover ratatouille. If I’m feeling like eating, I feel like vegetables are a good selection!

Dinner tonight was a Mediterranean chicken sandwich. First, we grilled some flattened chicken breasts (easier for them to stay in the sandwich that way!).

I started making the homemade tzatziki an hour before we were ready to eat. First, I took some plain greek yogurt and put a whole bunch of paper towels around it to let it absorb all the liquid.

After one hour:

I added minced cucumber, olive oil, garlic powder and salt. Perfect!



This has a really nice thick and creamy texture, almost like that of cream cheese. I love making this stuff!

We served the chicken breasts on whole wheat buns. One side had the tzatziki on it, the other had hummus. Add feta crumbles, tomato, lettuce and red onion. I also made homemade sweet potato fries. The trick with these is to broil them for the last few minutes to let them crisp up, otherwise, they just get softer the longer you cook them.

Yumm-o!

I was hoping to not need dessert today, considering all that I ate yesterday, but my body was telling me otherwise. I made a vitamuffin with homemade banana soft serve. Topped with walnuts.

Now I’m sipping on some decaf iced coffee to fill up my belly without eating anything. I am done for the night! Hoping that this insatiable urge to snack passes soon. Enjoy your night!

 

Leave a Reply

