Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Better than the Original September 4, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 12:57 pm
Tags: , , ,

I had a great workout at the gym today, running 6.6 miles in about an hour.

I did a speedwork session, so after a .5 mile warm-up, I alternated between a high speed (starting with 7.1 mph, working my way up to 8.2 mph) and 6.3 mph as my recovery. I always dread doing speedwork on the treadmill, but get such a great sense of accomplishment once I’ve done it.

Before making lunch, I was pretty hungry and dug into these.

Like I said yesterday, if I want to eat eat eat, vegetables are a good choice. I must have had about 4 slices of these babies!

For lunch, I wanted to try red quinoa that’s been sitting in my pantry for a while. I boiled 1+ cups of chicken broth and added in 1/2 cup of the quinoa. I let it simmer until the quinoa absorbed all the liquid.

Finished product:

To round it out for my lunch, I threw in a whole bunch of things I had sitting in my fridge:

  • spinach
  • tomato
  • cucumber
  • red bell pepper
  • red onion
  • artichoke hearts
  • cooked sprouted adzuki beans, lentils and peas
  • chickpeas
  • fat free feta

I made a dressing out of sherry vinegar and olive oil. I tossed the salad in the dressing and then added a sprinkling of parmesan cheese.

‘Twas tasty! I really liked the red quinoa! It had the same taste as normal quinoa, but had a crunchier texture. You’ll definitely be seeing more of this!

I also ate Dave’s pizza crusts, like a dutiful wife 🙂

Desert was an organic orange. I’d been avoiding it for about a week because it looked green on the outside, but it was actually very sweet and tasty! Just goes to show you, don’t judge a piece of fruit by its skin (sometimes.)

Dave and I are off to western Massachusetts to see his parents and his sister, brother-in-law, and our 22 month-old niece. They moved out there about a month ago and we haven’t seen them since. It’ll be a nice visit and I’ll be back later with a recap. Enjoy your Saturday; it’s beautiful here in Boston!

 

Leave a Reply

