Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Bars Galore September 5, 2010

Filed under: Food,Reviews — jessfindsbalance @ 11:06 pm
Tags: , , ,

Afternoon snacks today included:

Honey Chobani yogurt with a small organic peach, Fiber 1 cereal, walnuts and cinnamon

An Arnold’s Thin with a light Laughing Cow cheese wedge and a Cabot’s cheddar cheese snack, toasted so that it was like a grilled cheese.

We headed out to a nearby outdoor mall, Legacy Place, in Dedham. Dave’s birthday was on Thursday and tonight we met friends to celebrate. He’s been a lucky guy with celebrations on Thursday, yesterday and today! First we ran some errands.

I finally bought spinning shoes! I got a coupon for the Pearl Adzumi spin shoes at my gym and was perusing the City Sports website when I found out that they were on clearance, too! What would have been $100 dollar shoes only ended up costing me $50. Score! I have very sensitive feet and was worried that these wouldn’t fit, but this was perhaps the easiest shoe shopping trip in history. They feel super comfortable! I’ll let you know how they feel when I use them next weekend in my spinning class.

I also stocked up on Larabars. I bought eleven bars (Cinnamon Roll, Pecan Pie, Chocolate Coconut Chew, Carrot Cake, Banana Bread, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, Chocolate Chip Brownie, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip, Apple Pie and Peanut Butter Cookie). I am officially addicted. It’s taking every ounce of my willpower not to taste each one right now! These are the best snack – they are filling and delicious as well as balanced in terms of healthy fat, protein, and carbohydrate. They also really do taste like the real thing! That Lara is a smart chick.

(I arranged these with loving care.) Into a tupperware for easier storage.

We headed to the Yardhouse for dinner. My husband is a fan of beer and good food. It was a good pick.

They are known for their beer menu, with 250 beers on tap.

I of course did not partake, though! I was happy sipping on my water and diet coke.

We had a good crowd turn up! In all, there were 8 of us and good times were had by all!

I ordered the Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich on a whole wheat bun (sundried tomato mayo on the side) and a garden salad instead of the fries.

I could eat this sandwich every day for the rest of my life. It should really be renamed the “Jess Sandwich.”

The veggies and feta were so flavorful that I barely used any of the mayo, except on one bite just to taste it. It was one of those sandwiches where once you started, you had to keep going; if you put it down, the whole thing falls apart. I loved every second of it!

They also brought a chocolate soufflé with a candle for Dave’s birthday. We sang a very rousing renition of “Happy Birthday” to him (in harmony – both Dave and I were in a cappella groups and college and therefore have very musical friends). We all shared, and I had a small taste.

Another good night with friends. Oh how I love long weekends!

 

Leave a Reply

