Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Feel Good Feeling September 5, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food,Opinion — jessfindsbalance @ 3:21 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Like always, I had an awesome workout at the gym. Before starting, I posted this note in the locker room:

For those of you who have never heard of Operation Beautiful, it’s an initiative to help increase women’s self-esteem and relationship with their bodies and themselves. Caitlin started posting post-it notes on mirrors and in other public places for women to find and it is now an international movement. Have any of you ever left a note or found one? I know that it can make someone’s day and it made me feel really good to leave it, knowing that someone else would read it! I’ve also decided to post them in the girls’ bathroom at school (I teach 8th grade) since I feel like negative self talk starts at such an early age and that they could benefit from these positive messages.

Back to my workout! I started with the elliptical while waiting for the spin class, which kicked my butt, as always! As I walked out of the class, I found Gia on the treadmill and jogged with her for a bit. Next up, I headed to body pump, which is going to be my last class for over a week! With Rosh Hashanah this week, I will be out of town and thus unable to take a body pump class. Absence can make the heart grow (even) fonder!

Lunch was inspired by a recipe I saw somewhere. I made a grain salad with:

  • red quinoa, cooked with chicken broth
  • 1 can drained and rinsed black beans
  • 1/2 small can drained and rinsed corn
  • chopped tomato
  • chopped red onion
  • chopped red bell pepper
  • chopped avocado (about 1/4 of the entire fruit)
  • lime juice

I topped it with a dressing using plain fat free greek yogurt, lime juice, salt, pepper, olive oil and dried cilantro. As always, fresh would definitely be better, but considering I’m going out of town at the end of the week, I knew I’d feel bad if I had some fresh herbs going bad in my fridge while I was away!

This was so yummy! Red quinoa continues to grow on me more and more and the dressing did a really nice job of tying all the ingredients together. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

For dessert, I had a Weight Watchers Giant Fudge bar. No matter how many I eat, I never get tired of these. They’re the perfect dessert.

Next, we headed to Costco. Before leaving the house, I noticed that something was leaking from my purse and noticed that I hadn’t tightened the top on my water bottle all the way. Everything was wet and it’s put me in a foul mood since then. I’m hoping that a little bit of R&R and sunshine will fix that! We got some awesome healthy finds at Costco such as:

  • Multigrain Arnold’s Thins
  • Salmon fillets
  • Free-range organic chicken breasts
  • Canned diced tomatoes
  • Maranatha Almond Butter (a HUGE container for $5.79!!!)

I also snacked on some pineapple, BBQ pop chips and a bite of cheesecake while we were there 🙂 (Sorry for the lack of pictures – my purse is hanging to dry, so I left everything at home). If you know what to buy, Costco is a really great place to get healthy foods. They have a huge selection of fresh produce (which we didn’t buy today because of our impending vacation), lean meats, and grains. I even saw a huge bag of quinoa! I’ll pick some up next time; I’m pretty stocked up right now.

I hope you’re enjoying your Sunday afternoon! I love Sunday when I don’t have to go back to work on Monday 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

