Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Forgotten September 8, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food,Reviews — jessfindsbalance @ 7:31 pm
Tags: , ,

Before I say anything, I just need to say that the Chocolate Chip Brownie flavored Larabar was amazing! I love how those things taste like what they say they are.

I had an awesome day at school today. It helps that this week was only two days long for me 🙂

After school, in addition to the larabar I mentioned earlier, I also snacked on some celery.

And picked up a decaf iced caramel coffee from Dunkin Donuts. It was so refreshing!

I managed to squeeze in an hour at the gym this afternoon before leaving for Connecticut this evening. It was good to get my muscles moving on the elliptical, especially since I have a 2 hour+ car ride ahead of me!

On the menu for dinner tonight, we had portobello mushroom burger (marinaded in balsamic vinegar, rosemary and thyme) on a whole wheat bun. We were out of sliced mozzarella, so we just used two light string cheese sticks instead 🙂

Topped with basil, tomato and red onion.

We had planned on making a homemade pesto sauce with all our fresh basil, but we plumb forgot! Partway through eating my sandwich, though, I realized that all was not lost! We had store-bought pesto in the fridge. This Classico stuff is awesome. A little bit goes a long way!

Roasted brussels sprouts on the side. I roasted them yesterday with olive oil, salt and pepper, but I made a sauce using a bit of olive oil, honey and dijon mustard and tossed the sprouts to evenly coat them. As expected, I loved it! I could eat these all day every day.

After making dinner, we realized that we’d also planned on making polenta fries, but had somehow managed to forget to write polenta on our shopping list and therefore didn’t get made. We’ve moved them to next week, though!

Dessert was a pluot.

And we’re off!

 

One Response to “Forgotten”

  1. Jen Says:

    Great idea using the cheese sticks! I’ll have to try that when I run out of shredded mozz…which always happens to me!

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

