Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Too Much Sleep September 12, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 1:38 pm
Tags: , , ,

I can’t believe it’s already almost 1:30! I have already done so much today.

I woke up at 8:30, having slept for 10 1/2 hours. I don’t think that I’m still catching up on sleep; I think it’s more that I’ve been on a pseudo-vacation and have gotten into the habit of getting too much sleep. It could also be that I’ve been fighting off a headache, and I tend to sleep more when I get a migraine. I will have a rude awakening tomorrow morning when the alarm goes off at 5:45.

I ate a quick breakfast of two pieces of whole wheat cinnamon raisin toast with almond butter, apple slices and cinnamon.


Hot decaf Barnie’s Sweet Dreams coffee (chocolate, vanilla, nuts and coconut), with just a touch of skim milk added


Hot coffee means that fall is really here!
Afterwards, I headed to the gym and did about 20 minutes on the elliptical before heading to spinning class. I tried out my new spinning shoes (with clips!) and they were great! I’m definitely glad that I invested in a pair.
On my way home from the gym, I headed to Russo’s to pick up our produce for the week. The fun purchase of the week was fresh pasta! Stay tuned tomorrow to see what we do with it 🙂
Lunch today was a favorite of mine: a Mexican stirfry. I sauteed red onion, zucchini, and bell pepper in some olive oil. Once the vegetables were soft, I added some canned corn, one can of pinto beans (drained and rinsed), one can of diced tomatoes and chili powder, garlic powder, cilantro, cumin and cayenne pepper.
Served over whole wheat couscous (which I defrosted from the freezer) and topped with some low-fat shredded cheddar and plain greek yogurt. I added a bit more cheese halfway through.




Dessert course #1: a navel orange



Dessert course #2: Weight Watchers Giant Fudge bar



I’m planning on lounging around and possibly doing some schoolwork and housework. Poor Dave has a cold, so I’m also giving him lots of TLC 🙂

 

One Response to “Too Much Sleep”

  1. […] today is leftovers from yesterday’s Mexican stirfry lunch. There’s some whole wheat couscous underneath and I sprinkled some low fat cheddar cheese on […]


Leave a Reply

