Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Found! September 13, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 8:47 pm
Tags: , ,

Look what I found today!

I had to travel to Whole Foods to find this guy. After unsuccessful searches at three other grocery stores, I finally struck gold. He was very pricey, so I just bought two: one for making my mom’s pumpkin cake (stay tuned later this week for the recipe!) and one for me 🙂 I’m conserving it until I think of some killer recipes in which I plan to use it.
I had every intention of going to the gym after school today. It was a rough day at school, but I knew that going to the gym would be a good pick-me-up. When I drove by my exit to go home, I stayed on the highway. As soon as I was pulling up to the gym, though, I just knew I didn’t have the energy in me today. Instead, I decided to just call it a rest day and use my fresh legs tomorrow for a 9 mile run.

I headed to Whole Foods where I found the aforementioned cans of pumpkin. I also decided to indulge in one of my favorite sweets: chocolate and yogurt covered pretzels and raisins.

I really wanted to prove to myself that a) I could choose to take an off day because I’m tired/stressed and not eat into oblivion and b) eat a pretty small serving of a special treat and not let it become a gateway for a bigger binge. I am proud to say that I succeeded in accomplishing both goals!

When I got home, I did snack on a few nibbles of chocolate chips and a few carrots dipped in hummus. Little did I know, that would leave me very satisfied until several hours later! In fact, come dinner time at 7, I wasn’t too hungry. Even still, I managed to eat a delicious dinner of fresh whole wheat fettuccine with homemade pesto and sauteed veggies.

First, I boiled fresh pasta for about 7 minutes (fresh whole wheat takes longer than white pasta to cook!) Meanwhile, Dave sauteed chopped zucchini, bell pepper, onion and tomatoes.
I was in charge of the pesto. I picked about 2 cups of fresh basil from our garden (I am such a devoted chef that I did it while it was raining outside!). Next, I put it in my mini foodprocessor with about 1/4 cup olive oil, ~2-3 tbsp. parmesan cheese and 4 cloves fresh basil and pulsed it until it formed a nice paste. I meant to add walnuts and/or pine nuts, but I plumb forgot 😦 (While at Whole Foods, I contemplated buying fresh parmesan reggiano for our pesto, but at $18/lb., I decided that it wasn’t worth the cost.)

My serving, with pine nuts added on top to make up for the fact that I forgot to put them in the pesto:

This was so yummy!

A small bowl of pineapple and grapes for dessert.

I definitely ate more food at dinner than I needed to in order to feel satisfied. I really need to work on slowing down my eating so that I can pay better attention to my satiety cues. It’s a work in progress!
We had to make a trip out to CVS to buy Dave some 12 hour Sudafed. My poor hubby does not feel well. That medicine works wonders!

I’m spending the rest of my evening watching the US Open men’s finals match between Nadal and Djokovic. Anything that combines good sportsmanship and a certain attractive Spanish athlete is OK by me!

(Source)

P.S. I had typed up my breakfast post but forgot to post it this morning in my caffeine-less daze. Check it out here.

 

Leave a Reply

