Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

First Pumpkin of the Fall September 15, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 6:29 am
Tags: ,

Soon after posting last night, my hunger finally caught up with me. Even still, I wasn’t in the mood for the brussels sprouts and squash dish I’d made. I settled on a small bowl of Barbara’s Original Puffins and then decided to go big and have two mug-fuls with some almond breeze.


This was the perfect post-run meal.

After searching long and hard, I finally found pumpkin at Whole Foods on Monday and knew that I wanted to make something extra special and yummy with it. After ruminating for a couple days, I decided that I would christen this fall’s first meal with pumpkin by making pumpkin pancakes.

I used Roni’s pumpkin pancakes recipe as the inspiration to my recipe. The changes I made included:

  • using 1/3 cup whole wheat flour, almond breeze and pumpkin puree
  • adding walnuts
  • adding ~1 tbsp. ground flax seed
  • adding ~2 tbsp. raisins

I mixed all the ingredients last night to cut down on my breakfast prep time this morning. When I have to be out of the house by 6:30 AM, every time saver is needed!

Cooked on a well greased skillet over medium-high heat, covered, about 3 minutes on each side.


Topped with pancake syrup.


These were so yummy and very fluffy. I will definitely be making them again!

I ❤ pancakes! I am so glad I got over the “bad” label I’d given to pancakes during my dieting years!

 

One Response to “First Pumpkin of the Fall”

  1. […] so I’ve been thinking of ways to use it up before it goes bad. One thing I made last week was pumpkin pancakes, which were so good that I decided to make them again. Instead of using whole wheat flour, though, […]


Leave a Reply

