Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Moo September 15, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 9:31 pm
Tags: , ,

My eating for the day can easily be compared to that of a cow because I’ve been grazing all day! I was absolutely ravenous, like I predicted, and finished all my snacks, save the Mexican stirfry leftovers before lunch. Not only did I eat my back-up Larabar, but I also ate my small container of almonds and three prunes that I had in my emergency food stash, which I carry with me at all times.


And I purchased a snack at Healthworks when I got there around 4 because I was starving again! I got an apple flavored Heart Thrive, which are basically like dense mini-muffins. These have good nutritionals and are very filling without being too heavy. I ate one and saved the other for another time.

(Just a note: that says 1.3 grams of fat, not 13!)

I had an awesome workout at the gym, doing a 5.75 mile tempo run:

  • .5 mile warm-up at 5.5 mph (11:00 mile)
  • 1 mile at 6.6 mph (9:00 mile)
  • .25 mile recovery at 5.5 mph (11:00 mile)
  • 1 mile at 6.6 mph (9:00 mile)

In total, I did 5 quick miles, and I ran the last one at 7 mph (8:30 mile) pace! It felt good to flush out my legs after yesterday’s epic run. Tempo runs are good for building up your endurance and building up your speed for long runs.


Afterwards, I headed to body pump and had a great class. I went back to 43 lbs. for the squat track, since I’ve done a lot of running in the last couple days.

I came home around 7, starving again. Luckily, Dave had made dinner, a favorite recipe of ours: Chicken, Red Beans and Brown Rice. It’s from an awesome low fat cookbook that I have, but since I’m absolutely exhausted, the recipe will have to wait for the next time we make it. Sorry, guys!


My serving:


I was still hungry after eating this, so I ate another spoonful.


Dessert was a vitamuffin with banana soft-serve, flavored with unsweetened cocoa powder. A small spoonful of peanut butter for extra healthy fat and flavor.



I also snacked on a couple pieces of kabocha squash,



pineapple, cereal and chocolate chips.


I’m currently hanging out in front of the TV while my pumpkin cake is baking in the oven! This is one of my all-time favorite recipes that my mom made all the time while I was growing up. I doctored it up a bit to make it healthier.


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 15 oz. can pumpkin
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • nutmeg
  • cinnamon
  • pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips


Mix everything and pour into a well-oiled bundt pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 75 minutes.


This smells so good! I wish I could transmit the smell of pumpkin cake across the internet…

I’m bringing it to the pre-Yom Kippur dinner at my aunt’s house on Friday night. It’ll be hard not to eat it before then! Good night 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

