Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Taking Operation Beautiful into School September 16, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 12:26 pm

Howdy! This week is flying by. I’m glad to say that things are starting to be on the up and up and I’m feeling more optimistic about being in the 8th grade. We have such a nice team of kids, so I’m really grateful for that! It makes such a difference when you enjoy working with the 95 kiddos whose education you’re responsible for.

Aside from teaching my students history, another important part of my job is helping kids to think about what kind of person they want to be. One thing that I learned early on is that you can’t teach kids academics if their emotional needs aren’t taken care of first. In that vein, I’ve decided to take the Operation Beautiful message into my school.  Operation Beautiful’s goal is to change how girls and women see their bodies and themselves by replacing negative self-talk with uplifting, self-confident messages by placing motivational notes on post-its in public places. This morning, I posted a note in the girls’ bathroom, which I hope many girls saw!


I hope to put as many of these on the mirror in the girls’ room as often as I can and will share them with you when I can.

Lunch today is the leftover fresh whole wheat fettucine from Monday with leftover vegetarian meat sauce from Sunday. Topped with parmesan cheese, of course 🙂



An orange for dessert.

Snacks for today include a Gala apple,

my leftover apple Heart Thrive muffin with some peanut butter (there’s about 1 tbsp. in there),

and carrots and celery.

I’m planning on heading to the gym after school for some elliptical and lots of stretching. With all the running I’ve done in the last couple days, I’m in serious need of giving lots of TLC to my sore legs.

See you later!

 

Leave a Reply

