Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Back in the Game! September 19, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 8:07 pm
Tags: , ,

Good evening! I’m glad to be back home and back to blogging. The last few days haven’t been my best, with the stress of packing for the weekend and then the Jewish holiday. I was eager to get back on the wagon today and started my day with a breakfast of a sliver of raisin challah, some egg beaters with chopped tomato, and lots of fruit.

When I got home from Providence, I planned to go for an 8 mile run.Before hitting the road, I ate a piece of whole wheat cinnamon raisin bread with a smearing of almond butter.

I hadn’t exercised for the last two days and thought that having fresh legs would be good for a run. Oh was I wrong! My legs felt super stiff and my breathing wasn’t great. After 2.25 miles I decided to call it quits and drove over to the gym where I thought I’d have better luck doing some speedwork on the treadmill. I managed to do 1.5 miles, with two .5 mile fartleks at an 8:20 mile pace (7.3 mph). My legs were still feeling tight, so I gave up on running for today and did 45 minutes on the elliptical instead. I don’t get upset when plans for runs don’t get well. I see it as feedback and try to learn from the experience. I think that today’s run didn’t go well for these reasons:

  1. 2 days off from the gym and too much sleep made my body cranky.
  2. Eating too much in the last couple days did not provide the proper fuel for a run.

I’m hoping that tomorrow my legs will be looser and ready for some much-needed speedwork!

I had a whole bunch of errands to run after the gym, so I snacked on a small handful of almonds and a prune.

After doing my produce shopping at Russo’s, I also ate my first Macoun apple of the season. Dave absolutely loves these and he’s turned me into a fan, too! They have a nice tart but sweet taste and are really crisp.

Once I got home at 4:00, I was definitely hungry, but considering that I was planning on eating dinner in a few hours, I didn’t want to eat too much. First, I had some leftover roasted kabocha squash with white bean and basil hummus.

And then a raspberry Chobani yogurt with Fiber 1 and Barbara’s Original Puffins cereal for crunch.

Dinner was Emily’s Indian Lentils with Spinach and Eggplant, served over bulgur. It was so yummy! I followed the recipe to a “t” and I wouldn’t change anything about it.


I also have four containers of leftovers! Whee!
Dessert was a handful of crisp green grapes.

I’m off to finish grading quizzes and relax with Dave before hitting the hay. Good night!

 

2 Responses to “Back in the Game!”

  1. […] today is Sunday’s leftover Indian Lentils with Spinach and Eggplant, served over bulgur. […]

  2. […] we ate lunch at my place. I dug into two different kinds of vegetarian stews that I had leftover: Indian spiced lentils with eggplant and spinach and squash, lentil and chickpea […]


Leave a Reply

