Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Fun Find! September 22, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 8:55 pm
Tags: ,

I’m going to make this quick since I’ve had a long day and am in need of some R&R!

After school today, I headed to the gym  and hopped on the elliptical for 50 minutes. Afterwards, I did some foam rolling for my very tight IT bands. I really need to make more time to do some serious stretching! My legs have felt so tight. I think that I’m going to break out my yoga mat tomorrow evening for a quick yoga session.

I forced myself to go to body pump today, where we did the new release. I’m not quite sure how I feel about it yet, but I’m glad that I got in my strength training!

I’ve decided that I am going to start helping coach the intramural cross country team at my school. I’ve been thinking about it and know that I would absolutely love it. I also think that it would be a good place for me to act as a role model for healthy living. I’ll keep you updated!

On another good note, look what I found at the grocery store today!!!

I got home way too late tonight and didn’t end up eating dinner until 8. I did have a snack when leaving the gym at 5:30 to tide me over, which did help. A small handful of almonds and a prune:

While making dinner, I snacked on some kale chips I made using olive oil and parmesan cheese, baked at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

Dinner tonight was a quesadilla using sauteed onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, zucchini and spinach. I used one oz. of Cabot’s light cheddar, which I shredded, and a light Laughing Cow cheese for added creaminess.

First I sauteed the veggies in some canola oil.

Once the veggies were soft, I removed them from the pan. Next, I put the cheese in a Flat Out multigrain wrap and added the veggies. I folded it back in half and put it back in the pan, covered, for about 4-5 minutes each side to let it crisp up and to let all the cheese melt. (Sorry I don’t have more pictures, I was so hungry that I didn’t take time to do it!)

While that was cooking, I also made a can of refried beans. These were pretty tasty, although I still prefer the TJ’s refried black beans with jalapeno more!

I topped my quesadilla with 1/4 sliced avocado and some plain greek yogurt.

I ended up going back for seconds of the beans. I ❤ beans! This meal was just so tasty. It hit the spot!

Dessert was a pretty big serving of grapes

and a Weight Watchers Giant Fudge bar.

Off to relax. Good night!

 

Leave a Reply

