Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Southerner for the Day September 29, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 9:05 pm
Tags: , ,

Hi everyone! I’m relaxing with Dave on the couch, in preparation for hell day tomorrow: open house. What it means is that I will be at school for over 12 hours. I will be taking a break from school and heading to the gym for a bit after school. I tried staying at school until open house at 6:30 my first year, and it was possibly the worst day of my life. I am kind of looking forward to having some extra time at school so that I can get lots of grading done!

Some good news is that I’m 99% better! Aside from some iffiness from my stomach this morning, I’ve been totally fine. I’m hoping that tomorrow I can have my morning coffee. I missed it today! I ran with the cross country team this afternoon while they did interval training, and I managed to run my .25 mile sprints at a 7:15 minute/mile pace! When I got to the gym a little later, I did a couple more intervals and felt great. I think my legs are finally loose. It only took a week and a half…After my speedwork, I did body pump and as always, felt like a total rockstar. I’m even contemplating getting certified to teach body pump! Maybe in the winter or fall. In the meantime, I’m going to focus on getting through the cross country season with my students and my half marathon on November 14.

For dinner tonight, we channeled our inner southernness. We made a favorite recipe from Cooking Light for shrimp and grits. I didn’t get home until 7:00, so Dave was in charge of dinner. Here’s the finished product, fresh out of the oven:

My serving, in a small bowl.

Mmmm…

I’m realizing more and more that I really don’t need that much food to feel satisfied. I normally would serve myself probably 50% more, but this was just perfect!

I finished off my dinner with some light ice cream, a few bites of my baked autumn fruit and a couple chocolate-covered cocoa nibs. Good night!

 

Leave a Reply

