Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Recycled Leftovers September 30, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 6:30 am
Tags: ,

I made my first baked autumn fruit of the season on Tuesday night and had visions of using it as a pancake topper. Considering that today is hell day (open house – I won’t get home until 9:15!), I wanted to treat myself to a special breakfast.

I made the pancake batter last night:

  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 egg
  • honey
  • ~1 tsp. baking powder
  • ~1 tsp. baking soda
  • vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • ~1 tbsp. applesauce
  • ~1 tbsp. ground flax seed (gotta have those Omega-3s!)

Whisked well, and then cooked on a well-greased pan over medium-high heat.

Topped with some plain greek yogurt, mixed with honey, baked autumn fruit, and walnuts.

Oh yeah. This tasted just as good as it looks!

Wish me luck for my epic day…

 

Leave a Reply

