Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Stressed, Tired and Struggling October 2, 2010

Filed under: Exercise,Food — jessfindsbalance @ 1:48 pm
Tags: , , ,

Hi everyone! Sorry for no post yesterday. After Thursday night’s epic day (I left home at 6:30 AM and didn’t come back until 9:15) I was pretty beat last night and just needed to decompress. It was a very long week and I was tired! I never did recover from the poor night’s sleep I had on Tuesday, when I was sick in the middle of the night. Not to worry, though: I slept for 11 1/2 hours last night! I swear, I have reverted back to my adolescent years.

The last two days have not been exemplary ones for me. I had a good day of eats on Thursday (the day of open house at school) until I got home, when I ate a whole bunch for no reason. Well, I guess there was a reason, since every action we take seeks to benefit us in some way. The same thing happened yesterday, during which I was doing great until I came home after the gym and ate way too much again. I have started to notice a trend that the week before Auntie Flow arrives, I am more prone to stress and therefore more prone to overeating. I will definitely be vigilant for the next few days and next month at the same time, reminding myself that when I want to binge, it’s an attempt to escape whatever feelings are overwhelming to me and that there are better ways for me to deal with it.

In an attempt to get back on track, I decided to go for a long run this morning. The weather is absolutely beautiful today: a high of 63 and not a cloud in the sky. I also realized that only 6 weeks + 1 day stand between me and my half-marathon on Sunday, November 14 and it has been about 2 1/2 weeks since I did a long run. I figured out that if I want to run 13 miles before the race, with a taper week beforehand, I have to run 9 miles this week, 10 miles next week, etc. so that I get to 13 miles with no more than 1 1/2 weeks before the race.

After waking up at 9:45 this morning, I ate my typical pre-run breakfast of two pieces of toast, nut butter, sliced banana and cinnamon. I also took a couple excedrine (it has caffeine in it) to get rid of my sleepy-head headache and for a little bit of a boost.

My legs felt great for the first 6 miles or so of my run and I was doing great for time. I’ve decided that I am going to let the timer run during my walking breaks so that I have a realistic idea of how long it will really take me to finish the race. Here are my splits (including walking breaks):

  • 1st mile: 9:29 minute/mile
  • 2nd mile: 9:21 minute/mile
  • 3rd mile: 10:20 minute/mile
  • 4th mile: 9:57 minute/mile
  • 5th mile: 9:30 minute/mile (a few really big hills)
  • 6th mile: 9:50 minute/mile
  • 7th mile: 10:24 minute/mile (starting to feel really tired here)
  • 8th mile: 9:57 minute/mile (I found a second wind!)
  • 9th mile: 9:55 minute/mile

Total: 9.05 miles  1:29:17

So I think that my goal for the race is to keep at or below a 10:00 minute/mile pace and finish in less than 2 hours and 15 minutes.

With a long run behind me for today, I’m confident that today is going to be the first of several back on track. I have been doing a pretty good job with intuitive eating, although the last few days have definitely been anomalies. I’m committed to getting back on the wagon, though!

My plans for the rest of the day include grocery shopping and then going out to dinner with Dave and lots of his friends at a Chinese restaurant. Hopefully I have an appetite again by then! Hope you’re enjoying this beautiful Saturday 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

