Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

No Better Way To Wake Up… October 4, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 6:28 am
Tags: ,

…than with breakfast waiting for me and the smell of oatmeal in the air! I never eat hot oatmeal for breakfast on school days (or ever, really) because of the time it takes to make it. I had come across some crockpot recipes for steel cut oats and knew that this was for me. Last night, I whipped out my crockpot

and put the following in my handy dandy crockpot:

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 3 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1 1/2 overripe bananas
  • pinch of salt
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla

Before…

After…

This morning, I added a scoop of canned pumpkin, a scoop of cottage cheese, chia seeds, and walnuts. I then topped it with a peanut butter sauce and some pumpkin butter. Mmmm…

This was so rich and I didn’t have much of an appetite, so I barely finished half of this and put it away for breakfast another day.

Off to school. I can’t believe that this weekend is Columbus Day weekend already!

 

Leave a Reply

