Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Cooking Dinner in Pajamas October 17, 2010

Filed under: Food — jessfindsbalance @ 8:56 pm
Tags: ,

Confession: When I’m hanging out at home, there is a 93.78% chance that I’m in comfy PJs. Cooking dinner tonight was no exception:

 

 

On the menu for tonight was an Eating Well recipe for Indian-Spiced Eggplant and Cauliflower stew. You know me; I love my ethnic vegetarian stews!

 

 

To make it, I first sauteed a chopped onion and several crushed cloves of garlic in canola oil. Once it was getting soft, I added LOTS of curry powder, garam masala, ground mustard seed and ginger. Then, I added 1/2 cup chicken broth, 1 chopped eggplant, 1 can of diced tomatoes and a large can (30 oz.) of chickpeas. I was supposed to add a head of cauliflower, but the pot was so brimming that I only had room for half of it:

 

 

So I roasted the rest with some olive oil and salt. (400 degrees for about 30 minutes, tossing halfway through) I lurve roasted vegetables 🙂

 

 

My serving, over brown rice:

 

 

Getting ready for school tomorrow. It’s been a relaxing and social, yet productive, weekend and my batteries are as recharged as they can get! Wish me luck for my 11 mile run tomorrow 😀

 

Leave a Reply

