Jess Finds Balance

My journey to finding a healthy balance with eating, exercise, and life in general

Right On Target October 18, 2010

Filed under: Exercise — jessfindsbalance @ 7:57 pm
Tags: ,

I am right on target for achieving my time goal for a sub-2 hour half marathon on Sunday, November 14. I had planned an 11 mile run on the course that I’ll be running on race day. I figured out last week that to finish in under 2 hours, I need to keep an average 9:10 minute/mile pace. I felt like it was a reach, but something I could achieve. Even still, my best time for a long (+8 mile) run had been 9:15 minutes/mile. Well, I blew that out of the water today with an 11.5 mile run averaging 8:59 minutes/mile! Wahoo!

 

I had planned to run 12 miles next week, but I’m just going to go for the entire 13 mile run and do it as many (3, I think) times before race day. I’m hoping that I can stick to the pace I set for myself, which felt like a challenge but still very comfortable. It’s amazing how logging the miles really does result in a faster pace.

 

It probably also helps that I’m fueling myself properly before runs and resting adequately for the couple days before. I feel like I’m really getting the hang of this!

 

I’m off to rest my tired legs and recuperate from a day of teaching. Hope your week is off to a good start 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Right On Target”

  1. Jen Says:

    Good luck! Sounds like you are doing awesome 🙂

    Jen
    http://jenslosinit.blogspot.com/

  2. Simply Life Says:

    wow, what an impressive goal! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

